Alliance Awards and Prizes

The Alliance currently offers the following named awards and prizes. Each is an umbrella category within which the discipline of individual applicants will be designated. For example, an applicant might receive “The Avery Young Faculty Award in Renal Physiology”, etc.

The Franklin Prize – Intended for investigators at Associate or Full Professor level (or equivalent) who have a sustained record of scholarship and productivity.

The Avery Young Faculty Award – Intended specifically for faculty at Assistant Professor (or equivalent) level prior to tenure/promotion review. There is no age limitation and no restriction based on years since receiving a degree. Recipients will have already demonstrated their promise as independent and productive researchers.

The AABS Breakthrough Award – Intended for investigators at any faculty career level who have recently published a major paper of fundamental and widespread importance.


The Alliance will add additional awards and prizes in the future.  Please check this web site again for details.